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INTRODUCTION -

Arizona Unemployment Insurance Tax

The Unemployment Insurance Program is a state

and federal partnership that temporarily provides
eligible unemployed workers, who are actively seeking
employment, with a measure of financial assistance
that does not eliminate their incentive to become
reemployed.

By providing certain benefits to disenfranchised
workers, the program helps stabilize the economy
during periods of recessions by partially replacing the
lost purchasing power of the unemployed portion of the
workforce.

Under the Unemployment Insurance Program all
employers in Arizona (with noted exceptions) must
pay a federal Unemployment Insurance tax under
the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). This
tax is used to fund the costs incurred by states in
administering the program.

Additionally employers are required to pay a state
unemployment insurance tax under the State
Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA). SUTA payments
are used solely for the payment of unemployment
insurance benefits to eligible unemployed workers.
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SECTION 1 -

APPLYING FOR AN ARIZONA
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ACCOUNT

1. Applying for an Arizona Unemployment
Insurance Account

As soon as you begin business in Arizona, you
must register with the Arizona Department of
Economic Security (DES) and Arizona Department
of Revenue (DOR). Registration must be done

by completing the Arizona Joint Tax Application
online at www.AZTaxes.gov or by completing and
submitting the “application” to DOR. DOR will then
forward a copy to DES. The information you provide
to DES on the form will be used to determine
whether or not you are liable to pay Arizona
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) taxes.

If you are determined liable to pay Ul taxes, a
“Determination of Unemployment Insurance
Liability” (UC-016 or UC-015A) will be mailed to
you by DES. It will specify the legal basis for your
liability, the date your Ul coverage starts, your tax
rate, and your Arizona Ul employer account number
(be sure to include this account number on any
correspondence with DES). If you have questions
about registering your business after reading these
instructions, contact the Employer Registration Unit.



http://www.AZTaxes.gov
https://azdor.gov/forms/tpt-forms/joint-tax-application-tpt-license
mailto:UITStatus%40azdes.gov?subject=

SECTION 2 -

EMPLOYERS AND UNEMPLOYMENT
INSURANCE COVERAGE

2. Employers and Unemployment Insurance
Coverage

2.1. Who Pays Unemployment Taxes?

In Arizona, most employers are required by law
to pay unemployment taxes on the first $7,000 in
gross wages paid to each employee in a calendar
year prior to December 31, 2022 or beginning
January 1, 2023, the first $8,000 paid to each
employee. An employer can be an individual,
partnership, corporation, Limited Liability
Company or any other entity for which a worker
performs services. If you meet one of the following
conditions, you are an employer required to pay
unemployment taxes:

1. Pay wages of at least $1,500 during a
calendar quarter. (A.R.S. §23-613(A)(2)(b))

2. Employ at least one worker for some part
of a day in each of 20 different weeks in a
calendar year. (A.R.S. §23-613(A))

3. Acquire the business or part of the
business of an employer already subject to
unemployment taxes.

(A.R.S. §23-613(A)(3))

4. Are required to pay federal Unemployment
Tax because you employed any individuals
in any other state or for any other reason.
(A.R.S. §23-613(A)(6))

5. Own or control two or more businesses in
Arizona which together meet any of the
other conditions described in this section.
(A.R.S. §23-613(A)(5))

6. Pay domestic/household workers at least
$1,000 cash wages in a calendar quarter.

7. Pay agricultural workers at least $20,000
cash wages in a calendar quarter, or employ
at least 10 agricultural workers for some
part of a day in each of 20 different weeks in
a calendar year. A.R.S. § 23-613(B)

8. Are a nonprofit organization exempt under
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue
Code, and employ four or more individuals
for some part of a day in each of 20 different
weeks in a calendar year.



https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

9. Voluntarily elect to provide unemployment coverage to your workers even though it is not
required. (A.R.S. §23-613(A)(8))

10. Are a leasing or temporary services business which leases or provides workers to other
businesses. (A.R.S. §23-614(E))

11. Are an Indian tribe, or are any subdivision, subsidiary, or business enterprise wholly owned by
such Indian tribe. (A.R.S. §23-751.01)

When you meet one of the above conditions during a calendar year, you must report all gross wages and
pay taxes on all taxable wages you paid during that entire calendar year. You must continue paying taxes
each subsequent calendar year until your account is terminated.

2.2. Successor Employers A.R.S. §23-613(A)(3), §23-733.01

When you acquire all or part of a business that was required to pay unemployment taxes in this state,
you are a “successor” for unemployment tax purposes. As a successor, you are immediately liable for
unemployment taxes regardless of the amount of wages you pay or the number of workers you employ.

As a successor, you may also take into account wages paid by the former owner in determining the
amount of wages on which you must pay taxes during the year in which you acquired the business.

For example, if the former owner has paid wages in excess of $7,000 prior to December 31, 2022 or
beginning January 1, 2023, $8,000, to a worker you continue to employ, you will not have to pay taxes on
any additional wages you pay this worker in the year you acquire the business.

2.2.1. Acquisition of an Entire Business A.R.S. §23-613(A)(4), §23-733(A)

When you acquire an entire Arizona business and continue its operation, you are assigned the tax
rate and experience rating account of the former owner, although you will receive a different account
number. The experience rating account includes the record of wages and taxes previously paid.

Therefore, any unemployment benefits awarded based on wages paid by the former owner may be
charged to your account. Additionally, you may be liable for unpaid taxes by the former owner. When
acquiring a business, determine and consider whether any unemployment taxes remain unpaid by the
seller.

2.2.2. Acquisition of a Portion of a Business A.R.S. §23-725

If you acquire a portion of an Arizona business and continue to operate it, you may be assigned the
rate and a portion of the experience rating account of the predecessor if there is common ownership or
control of the two businesses. See the SUTA Dumping provisions in section 10 for further information.

If there is no common ownership or control, you can choose to apply for a portion of the experience tax
rate of the former owner. If you choose to apply for a portion of the account and its corresponding tax
rate, you must file an Application & Agreement for Severable Portion Experience Rating Transfer within
180 days of acquiring the business. The former owner must agree and provide payroll information for
the portions of the business acquired and retained.

2.3. Termination of Account A.R.S. §23-725, A.R.S. §23-614.H

After you become liable for unemployment insurance coverage, your liability continues until it is
terminated. Your coverage and your tax account may be terminated if you:

+ File with the Department a written request for termination of coverage within the period from
January 1 through March 31 of the year.

+ Did not meet any of the applicable conditions that require payment of unemployment taxes in the
prior calendar year.

Your coverage and account will also be terminated if you transfer your entire business to a successor
employer. Termination of your coverage and account does not relieve you of liability for unpaid taxes. If at
any time after termination, you meet any conditions requiring you to pay unemployment taxes again, you
cannot reopen your previous account, you must apply for a new one.



https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
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https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://des.az.gov/sites/default/files/UC-247.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

SECTION 3 -
EMPLOYMENT AND WAGES

3. Employment and Wages

3.1. Defining an Employee A.R.S. §23-613.01
Who is an employee?

The relationship between you and your workers
determines whether your workers are employees.
An employment relationship exists when:

* A worker performs services for you that are
subject to your control, or right to control,
whether or not you actually exercise the
control.

* The services performed are a regular part of
your business. It is presumed that, in order to
protect your business interests, you have the
right to control the manner in which workers
perform services for you.

* The services may be performed on a full-
time/part-time, temporary, seasonal, or
probationary period and on or off your
premises or in the employee’s home.

Corporate officers, including officers of closely
held corporations, are employees of the
corporation whether or not they receive wages.

In contrast, “independent contractors”

* engage in an independent trade, occupation,
profession, or business

« advertise their services

+ are in a position to realize profit or suffer a
loss as a result of their services, and

* have a significant investment in the business.


https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

Individuals who have been found not to be employees for federal unemployment tax purposes by the
IRS will not be considered employees for state unemployment tax purposes for the periods determined
in the IRS writing. For more information about the difference between employees and Independent
Contractors, visit the following IRS website.

If you have any questions about whether your workers are employees, please contact any of the Tax
Audit Offices listed in the Field Office Directory.

3.2. Temporary and Part-Time Employees A.R.S. §23-613.01
Do | report the wages of part-time or temporary employees?
There is no distinction between part-time and full-time employees in terms of coverage under wage
reporting and claim filing laws. Employers must report the wages of all employees, both part-time and full-
time.
* The exceptions are:
o Employees who work for you less than 13 days in a calendar quarter if you never intended to
employ them for a longer period or on an on-call or other recurring basis.
o Students participating in a work study program (DECA or internship) who are hired and receive
school credit while working during the school year; however, if they are retained for summer
employment, then wages earned during the summer are to be reported.

3.3. Domestic Employees A.R.S. §23-617(2)
| have a domestic employee in my home. Do | need to pay unemployment tax on these wages?
Once the total amount of wages you pay for domestic services in a calendar quarter equals or exceeds
$1,000, you will be liable for state unemployment taxes on the first $7,000 prior to Dec. 31, 2022 or
beginning Jan. 1, 2023, $8,000, in gross wages you pay each domestic worker in that entire calendar year
and each year thereafter.
All wages paid must be reported and any taxes owed will be due on a quarterly basis. These wages
should not be confused with federal unemployment tax, which is due annually on domestic service and is
filed with your 1040 return on a schedule H, by April 15 of each year.

See A.R.S. §23-613(C) for the legal definition of “Employer” as it pertains to domestic services.

3.4. Employees in Multiple States
What if my employees work in more than one state?
If you have employees working in Arizona and one or more states, the following guidelines will help you
correctly report their wages and pay unemployment taxes.
1. If an employee works only in Arizona, report the wages and pay taxes to Arizona, whether or not
you are located in Arizona.
2. If an employee works only in another state, report the wages and pay taxes to that other state,
even if you are located in Arizona.
3. If an employee works primarily in Arizona and only occasionally in another state, report the wages
and pay taxes to Arizona whether or not you are located in Arizona.
4. If an employee works equally in two or more states, report the wages and pay taxes to the
state that contains the employee’s base of operations, or the state from which the services are
directed and controlled (usually the state in which you are located).
A.R.S. § 23-615.A.1 contains the provisions agreed by the states in determining the state to which the
services of multi-state workers shall be reported.



https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/independent-contractor-self-employed-or-employee?_ga=1.106928896.2072765907.1423506759
https://des.az.gov/services/employment/unemployment-employer/contact-unemployment-tax-general-information
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

The following chart will assist in the decision-making process as to where the work is localized.
MULTI-STATE EMPLOYEE LOCALIZATION FLOW CHART

Did the worker perform all
services in Arizona?

ot

Report all wages to
Arizona.

Were the services outside of
Arizona isolated, temporary,
transitory or incidental?

Report all wages to
Arizona.

et

Did the worker have a base
of operations in Arizona,
possibly working from a

g1l

Report all wages to
Arizona.

@ home office?

Did the worker have a base
of operations in another state
and NOT in Arizona?

YES

Inep

Did the employer control the
services from Arizona?

Jnel

Report all wages to the
other state.

YES

Report all wages to
Arizona.

Did the employer control the
services from another state
in which services were

Report all wages to the
other state.

@ performed?

Did the worker reside in

I

Arizona?
N07

Wages should be reported to
the state in which the worker
has a residence.

Report all wages to
Arizona.

3.5. Exempt Employment A.R.S. §23-617
What Is Exempt Employment?

If you have questions about
properly reporting wages and
paying unemployment taxes,
please contact the Employer
Registration Unit or any of the Tax
Audit Offices listed in our Field
Office Directory.

Employees are included under the unemployment insurance law unless their services are specifically
excluded. If a service is excluded it is not counted in determining your tax liability and payments for those

services should not be included on your quarterly wage reports.

Some examples of payments that should not be reported include payments to the following:
1. Workers, if paid solely by commission:

a. Licensed real estate salespersons or brokers and cemetery salespersons
b. Insurance and securities salespersons
c. Income tax preparers
d. Direct sellers of consumer goods, who solicit orders or make sales in person in customers’

homes


mailto:uitstatus%40azdes.gov?subject=
mailto:uitstatus%40azdes.gov?subject=
https://des.az.gov/services/employment/unemployment-employer/contact-unemployment-tax-general-information
https://des.az.gov/services/employment/unemployment-employer/contact-unemployment-tax-general-information
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

2. Individuals employed by their son, daughter or spouse, and individuals under the age of 21 years

employed by their father or mother.
a. Under the following circumstances the family exemption does not apply and wages must be
reported:
i. The employer is a corporation (this includes Subchapter S corporations), or a partnership
or limited liability company (LLC) treated as a corporation for federal tax purposes; or

ii. The employer is a partnership or a multi-member LLC treated for federal tax purposes as
a partnership, unless an exempt family relationship exists between the employee and all
of the partners or members; or

iii. The employer is an estate, even if it is the estate of a deceased parent.

3. Casual labor: Individuals hired for a one-time, short-term job, for less than 13 days in a calendar

quarter, when there was never intent for a continuing employment relationship.

For other services that are classified as Exempt employment, see A.R.S. § 23-613.01 and 23-617.

3.6. Wages to Report A.R.S. §23-622
What wages must be reported?

All payments to your employees for services are wages and must be reported (before deductions) on your
quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Report, unless specifically excluded by law.

This includes: salaries, commissions, bonuses, fees, fringe benefits, sick pay, deferred compensation, tips
reported to you by your employees, and the cash value of payments in any medium other than cash (such
as gifts). Employer contributions (to the extent elected by the employee) to 401(k) plans are also wages.

The following payments, excluded by law, should not be reported:

1.

2.
3.

4.
5,

~

Insurance / Disability / Retirement:

a. Payments you make to a plan for insurance (or payments from a plan to employees or
dependents) for workers compensation, medical or hospitalization expenses, or death.

b. Payments made to a retired employee under certain retirement plans, or payments made for
an employee to a retirement plan.

c. Long term disability (after six months).
d. Survivor benefits.
A domestic employee’s share of FICA which you pay.

Moving expenses reimbursed to employees where there is an allowable corresponding deduction
under the Internal Revenue Code.

Meals and lodging provided for the convenience of the employer.

Scholarships and fellowship grants provided by nonprofit or governmental employers to the
extent allowed under the Internal Revenue Code.

. Tuition reduction to employees of educational institutions.
. Employee discounts up to 20%.
. Working condition fringe benefits which, if provided by the worker, would be deductible business

expenses (e.g., the value of a company car used for business purposes).

. Fringe benefits of minimal or insignificant value, such as complimentary coffee and tea you

provide for your employees.

10. Payments for agricultural labor in any medium other than cash.
11. Payments for services not in the course of your trade or business in any medium other than

cash.

12. Amounts excluded from the definition of wages for Federal Unemployment Tax Act purposes.


https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
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3.7. Corporate Officers A.R.S. §23-615(A)(4)

My business is a corporation, and | am a corporate officer. Why do | have to report the wages that
| earn from my corporation?

As a corporate officer, you are an employee of the corporation for Arizona and federal Ul tax purposes.
Wages that you earn from the corporation are usable as wage credits if you ever need to file a claim for
unemployment benefits.

If a corporate officer files a claim for unemployment benefits the amount and duration of unemployment
benefits available will depend on your earnings and the conditions of your separation from employment.

3.8. Member/Manager of LLC A.R.S. §23-613.01(A)
| am a Member/Member-Manager of my LLC. Do | have to report my wages and pay taxes?

Whether or not your wages are reportable for Arizona Ul Tax purposes depends on how you report for the
Limited Liability Company (LLC) federally.

» LLCs that have elected federal tax treatment as partnerships or sole proprietorships are also
treated as partnerships or sole proprietorships for Arizona Ul tax purposes.

> Wages for members and member-managers of such LLCs are not reportable.
o Additional information can be found in section 3.5 Exempt Employment.

o LLCs that have elected federal tax treatment as a corporation are also treated as corporations
for Arizona Ul tax purposes.

o Wages for all members and member-managers of such LLCs are reportable.
Wages paid to all other employees of any LLC must be reported and are subject to Arizona Ul tax.

3.9. Voluntary Coverage A.R.S. §23-725(D). (E)

Can | get unemployment insurance coverage for my workers even if I’'m not required to provide
coverage?

If you have not met any of the statutorily defined conditions (also refer to A.R.S. § 23-613) that require
you to provide Ul coverage, but you want to get Ul coverage for your workers, you may apply for voluntary
coverage. To apply:
* Respond to a letter issued by the Department that includes a section regarding “Voluntary Election
of Unemployment Insurance Coverage” where you are given the option of applying for voluntary
coverage, or
+ Send a letter to the Department requesting to apply for voluntary coverage.
If you have not yet received your Department of Economic Security unemployment insurance tax number,
and it has been more than one month since you submitted the Joint Tax Application, please contact the
Employer Registration Unit.
Exception to voluntary coverage:

* You cannot elect to cover a classification of employee already exempt from Ul coverage

NOTE: If voluntary coverage is approved, you must continue to cover your employees for at least two full
calendar years.
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SECTION 4 -

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAXES
(AND OTHER EMPLOYMENT TAXES)

4. Unemployment Insurance Taxes (and other
Employment Taxes)

4.1. Calculating Unemployment Tax Rates
A.R.S. §23-728, §23-729, §23-730

How much are unemployment taxes?

The following does not apply to certain nonprofit
and governmental employers, Indian tribes and
churches/religious organizations that have chosen
the reimbursement payment option.

The Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)
requires all state systems to contain “experience
rating” features, in order to ensure higher tax
burdens on firms “causing” the benefit payments
and lower tax rates for firms with stable
employment.

When an employer has accumulated sufficient
“experience” with respect to unemployment, the
employer is assigned a tax rate.

+ If the employer’s work force has had low
unemployment, this favorable experience will
be reflected in a lower tax rate.

» Contrarily an employer’s tax rate will become
progressively higher the more unfavorable
their experience with unemployment becomes.

There is, however, another important factor which
affects an employer’s tax rate-the economic
conditions which prevail in the state. The

state’s unemployment trust fund reflects the
prevailing economic conditions in the state and
its experience with unemployment over the past
several years.

Schedules in all states are designed to be counter
cyclical...i.e. employers make payments into the
fund at low rates during recessionary periods.
After periods of high unemployment, the rates
increase to replenish the fund.

Arizona’s fund control schedule, found in A.R.S.
§ 23-730 was developed many years ago using
nationally recognized assumptions on how to
define trust fund adequacy. It is designed to

be self-adjusting and to keep the fund balance
between 5% and 5.5% of total state-wide taxable
payrolls. This is considered adequate for the
payment of benefits for 18 months in a recession.
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The range of unadjusted tax rates are adjusted annually and may be increased or decreased
depending on the solvency of the unemployment trust fund. The actual taxes you pay are calculated by
multiplying your quarterly taxable wages by your tax rate.

If you are a new employer (other than a successor to a liable employer), you are assigned a tax rate of
2% for a minimum of two calendar years. After that, your rate will be based on the following factors:

1. The amount of taxes you have paid;
2. The amount of unemployment benefits paid to your former employees and charged to you;
3. The average size of your annual taxable payroll;

4. The overall solvency of the unemployment trust fund is also a factor because it is used in the
computation of the adjusted rate schedule.

These factors are used to compute your tax rate using a “reserve ratio” system. The taxes you paid
minus the amount of benefits attributable to your business are divided by your average annual taxable
payroll to produce your reserve ratio. The higher reserve ratio you have, the lower your tax rate.

This system ensures an equitable distribution of the cost of the system based on employers’ actual
experience with the Unemployment Insurance program. It also encourages employers to stabilize their
workforce and monitor their ex-employees’ unemployment claims, thereby helping to prevent abuse
and minimize charges to their accounts.

- |Reserve Balance (taxes paid - benefits charged)
|Average Annual Taxable Payroll

Reserve Ratio

Your reserve ratio is compared to a table in the law that prescribes the rates assigned to each ratio.
The law provides that these rates may be increased or decreased depending on the solvency of the
unemployment benefit trust fund. High rates of unemployment in the state can produce higher tax rates
in subsequent years; in contrast low unemployment can produce lower tax rates.

At the end of December you will receive a Determination of Unemployment Tax Rate (UC-603)
(View sample UC-603) advising you of your tax rate for the upcoming calendar year. The
determination contains your tax rate and all the factors used in calculating your reserve ratio. If
you disagree with the rate assigned or any of the calculations, you may file a request for review by
following the instructions on the determination. Make sure you provide a copy to your tax return
preparer so that your taxes are calculated at the correct rate.

4.2. Voluntary Payments to Lower Tax Rate

Included in your annual unemployment tax rate determination is information about voluntary payments. It
explains how to calculate the amount you can pay to improve your reserve ratio and lower your tax rate.

By comparing the voluntary payment amount with your potential reduction in taxes, you can determine if
you will save money by making a voluntary payment.

Each year consider a voluntary payment as a way to reduce your taxes.

Voluntary payments must be made by February 28 in order to lower your tax rate for that calendar year.

It is advisable to pay by check rather than electronically. This enables you to specify the purpose of the
payment on the check and mail it directly to the Ul Tax Experience Rating Unit for correct processing. See
the reverse side of your annual tax rate determination for complete instructions.

4.3. Reimbursement Payment Option A.R.S. §23-750

What is the reimbursement payment option?

Some entities are offered an alternative method of paying unemployment insurance, called the
reimbursement payment option, a form of self-insurance. In lieu of paying taxes on a quarterly basis,
you reimburse the Department of Economic Security for your proportionate share of the amount of
unemployment benefits it pays to your former workers. These entities are:
» Nonprofit organizations that are exempt from federal unemployment taxes under Section 501(c)(3)
of the Internal Revenue Code
* Governmental entities

e Indian tribes, and
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» Churches/religious organizations that voluntarily elect to participate in the Unemployment
Insurance Program

You may choose the reimbursement payment option within 30 days of the date you are notified of your
liability for unemployment insurance coverage as an employer by completing and returning the form
enclosed with the notification. If you do not return the form, your account will be established on a tax-rated
basis. Your choice remains in effect for at least three calendar years. Notice to terminate the election must
be received by the Department before December 2. The termination will become effective the following
calendar year.

What factors should be considered before choosing the reimbursement payment option?

1. This option is generally more advantageous for small employers with stable employment; the tax-
rated basis is usually more advantageous for large employers, who tend to have a higher rate of
employee turnover, or employers of any size that have unstable employment.

2. Reimbursement payments will vary depending on the number of former employees who are
receiving unemployment benefits. With this method, it is difficult to estimate costs. In contrast,
tax-rated employers can more accurately estimate unemployment costs because their tax rates
remain constant for a complete calendar year.

3. Employers who have elected the reimbursement payment option may not be relieved of charges
for benefit payments for any reason. This includes cases when former employees are paid
benefits after a disqualification for quitting or discharge, in cases where they are paid benefits
after subsequent employment, and certain other circumstances. Although tax-rated employers
may be relieved of charges for specific individuals, the actual cost of the benefits paid to those
individuals is shared by all tax-rated employers.

4.4. Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA)

Most employers who pay Arizona state unemployment tax are also required to pay the Federal
Unemployment Tax (FUTA). The annual FUTA tax you pay is used to fund the administrative costs of
the Unemployment Insurance program while your Arizona state unemployment tax is used solely for the
payment of benefits to unemployed workers.

FUTA taxes are calculated by multiplying 6% times the employer’s taxable wages. The taxable wage base
is the first $7,000 paid in wages to each employee during a calendar year.

When you pay your state unemployment taxes on time, you receive a tax credit of 5.4% to reduce your
FUTA tax regardless of your Arizona unemployment tax rate. The credit is equal to your actual tax rate,
plus the difference between that percent and 5.4%. This means that Arizona employers who pay their
state taxes timely pay a net federal tax of 0.6%. For example: If your Arizona tax rate is 2%, you will
receive a tax credit of 5.4% to reduce the federal tax even though your tax rate is less than 5.4%.

Federal Tax Rate 6.0%

Credit 5.4% 2.7% state tax credit plus an additional 2.7% credit

Net Federal Tax 0.6%

In order to receive the full federal tax credit, you must pay state unemployment taxes on time. If you pay
your state taxes late, you will receive only 90% of the allowable credit. Visit the Internal Revenue Service
Web site for more information on FUTA and other federal taxes.

4.5. Arizona Withholding Tax
Arizona Department of Revenue Income (“Withholding”) Tax

All wages, salaries, bonuses or other compensation paid for services performed in Arizona are subject
to state income tax withholding, with exceptions. Visit the Arizona Department of Revenue Web site for
detailed information.
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SECTION 5 -

REPORTING WAGES AND PAYING
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAXES

5. Reporting Wages and Paying Unemployment
Insurance Taxes

5.1. Reporting Wages

Learn about electronic filing of your quarterly
Unemployment Tax and Wage Report

(UC-018). Businesses determined liable to provide
unemployment insurance coverage for their
workers are required to:

1. Submit Unemployment Tax and Wage
Reports for each quarter they are covered,
even for quarters during which no wages
were paid, and

2. Pay taxes each quarter taxable wages were
paid.
If you have an Arizona unemployment tax account
number and need a paper copy of the
UC-018, you can find one on our website
www.azuitax.gov under Forms.

5.2. Paying Taxes A.R.S. §23-726, §23-723

This section does not apply to nonprofit and
governmental employers, Indian tribes and churches/
religious organizations.

Your tax payment is due on the same date your
report is due. If quarterly reports and payments are
filed late, penalties and interest are assessed.

You must report total gross wages paid to all
employees in the quarter, but pay taxes on only

the first $7,000 prior to Dec. 31, 2022 or beginning
Jan. 1, 2023, $8,000, paid to each employee in the
calendar year. Subtract “excess wages” (amounts
over $7,000 prior to Dec. 31, 2022 or beginning

Jan. 1, 2023, $8,000, paid to each employee in a
calendar year) from total wages to determine taxable
wages. Remember, if you are a successor employer,
you may take into account wages paid by the former
owner in the same calendar year you acquired the
business to compute your taxable portion of wages
paid to any of the former owner’s employees you
continued to employ.

12


https://des.az.gov/electronic-reporting-and-payment-options
http://www.azuitax.gov
https://des.az.gov/services/employment/unemployment-employer/forms-unemployment-tax
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23
https://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=23

Once you have an Arizona unemployment tax account number, you are encouraged to submit quarterly
wage reports and pay taxes electronically by using our online Tax and Wage System (TWS). You can
also upload your quarterly wage reports and make payments through the Arizona Ul Tax Reporting

for Employers (AZURE) system. AZURE is a bulk file upload server to server process, using a Secure
File Transfer Protocol (SFTP). If you have any questions related to bulk filing, contact the Employer
Accounting Unit at (602) 771-6601 or uitaccounting@azdes.gov. If you file online, DO NOT file using the
paper UC-018. Online payments may be made either along with or separately from online report filing, or
you may select the paper check payment option, which generates a payment voucher for you to print and
submit along with your payment by check.

5.2.1. Reimbursement in Lieu of Paying Quarterly Taxes A.R.S. §23-750

This section applies only to nonprofit and governmental employers, Indian tribes and churches/
religious organizations who have chosen and have been approved to reimburse the Department of
Economic Security for benefit payments charged to their accounts in lieu of paying quarterly taxes.

1. Each quarter you must complete and submit an Unemployment Tax and Wage Report. In
preparing your reports, you will list your employees’ names, their social security number and
provide the total amount paid to each employee in the quarter. Wages must be reported in the
quarter in which they are paid. No “excess” wages or taxes are computed, and no payment is
included with the report.

2. You will be notified when former employees file for benefits and will be provided the opportunity
to protest the employee’s receipt of benefits, based on the reason for separation, if you were the
claimant’s last employer.

3. Whenever benefits are paid to former employees in a calendar quarter, you will receive a
Benefit Charge Notice (UC-602) during the first month of the following quarter. A statement
will accompany the notice specifying the amount due. That amount will be your proportionate
share of benefit payments made that quarter, plus half of your share of extended benefits if
you are a nonprofit employer, and the full amount of your share of extended benefits if you are
a governmental employer or Indian tribe. Your payment is due on or before the last day of the
second month following the end of the quarter in which the benefit claims were paid.

Additional provisions affecting Indian tribes

A.R.S §23-751.01 provides that Indian tribes which fail to make payments, including assessments of
interest and penalties, within 90 days of notice of the amounts due lose the option to make payments
in lieu of taxes for the following tax year, unless full payment is made before the taxes for the next
tax year are computed. This can also result in the tribe losing its Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA)
exemption and becoming liable to pay FUTA Tax at the full 6% rate.

5.3. Wage Reporting Schedule A.R.S. §23-610, §23-723

Reports are due as follows, unless the due date falls on a weekend or a state holiday in which case the
due date is extended to the next business day:

Ul TAX WAGE REPORT SCHEDULE

QUARTER # WAGES PAID DURING CALENDAR QUARTER ENDS REPORT DUE BY
1 January, February, March March 31 April 30
2 April, May, June June 30 July 31
3 July, August, September September 30 October 31
4 October, November, December December 31 January 31
13
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If quarterly reports and payments are filed late, penalties and interest are assessed.

« The penalty for a late report is 0.1% of total wages paid in the quarter; the minimum penalty is $35
and the maximum is $200.

* Interest on unpaid taxes accrues at 1% of the taxes due per each month, or portion of a month,
that the payment is late.

You can avoid the late report penalty charge by filing your quarterly reports on time, even if you are
unable to pay the tax at the time of filing. If you cannot pay the tax due, contact the Collections Unit to
make payment arrangements. The Department may file liens, levy on property and rights to property, and
otherwise enforce collection of overdue amounts.

Can a single report be filed for the entire year?

No. You must file a quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Report for each quarter whether or not wages
were paid. An unemployment claim can be filed at any time of the year. Monetary eligibility for Ul is based
on wages paid to an individual during a one-year period called the Base Period. The Base Period is the
first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the claim is filed. This is why wages must be
reported quarterly.

5.4. Gross, Total and Taxable Wages

Both total and taxable wages are reportable on the quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Report
(UC-018). All wages must be reported for the quarter in which they were paid to the worker.

Gross wages are the total amount of wages paid to an employee before deductions. This includes, but is
not limited to, salaries, wages, commissions, bonuses, overtime pay, incentive awards and tips. All of the
types of remuneration that are considered wages for Ul reporting purposes are defined in A.R.S §23-622.

Total wages for Ul reporting purposes are the total of the gross wages paid for that quarter.

Taxable wages for Ul reporting purposes are the first $7,000 in total gross wages paid to each employee
in a calendar year prior to Dec. 31, 2022 or beginning Jan. 1, 2023, $8,000.

Excess wages for Ul reporting purposes are all wages paid to each employee for that quarter, in excess
of the first $7,000 paid to that employee in a calendar year prior to Dec. 31, 2022 or beginning Jan. 1,
2023, $8,000. Such “excess wages” must be reported in the quarter earned, but are not taxable. This is
because wages reported quarterly are used to establish eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits
regardless of whether taxes were due on those wages.

5.5. Filing Wage Reports without a Tax Account Number

You must file a tax and wage report using your Arizona unemployment tax account number. If you have
not been issued a number please go to www.aztaxes.gov to complete the registration process.

For more information about how to apply, see Section 1. Applying for an Arizona Unemployment Insurance
Account.
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5.6. Completing the Wage Report

You can file a quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Report by going to
https://uitws.azdes.gov/ or contact the Accounting Unit for more information on how you can file.

Wages must be reported in the quarter in which they are paid. For example, if a pay period ends
September 30 but wages were not paid until October 1, you would report the wages on your fourth quarter
wage report which covers the months of October through December.

In section A, enter the number of full-time and part-time employees who performed services during the
payroll period that includes the twelfth of the month. If you do not have any employees in the payroll
period, enter zero.

In section B, list all your employees in order by the employee’s Social Security number or alphabetically
by the employee’s last name.

If more than one page is needed to report all your employees, you may use white paper, however you
must use the same format provided in Section B. You can also use the Ul Tax Wage Listing Continuation
form available in the Document Center.

Penalties are assessed for incomplete reports, so be sure that each page contains the following
information:

a. Employer name.

Employer account number.

Calendar quarter and year for which the report is being filed.
Employee’s Social Security numbers and names (last name first).
Total amount of wages paid to each employee during the quarter.
f. Total wages paid to all employees listed on all pages.

®© 2 0 T

5.7. Report Corrections

5.7.1. Correcting Taxes and Wages on a Previously Submitted Report

If you find you reported taxes or wages incorrectly on a previously submitted report, you may submit a
copy of that report with the corrections clearly indicated on it along with an explanation of the reason
for the adjustment. Alternatively, you may download and complete an Adjustment Form (UC-522) or
contact the Employer Accounting Unit.

Adjustments must be made to the quarterly report in the quarter in which the error occurred. Do
not make an adjustment for a prior quarter on a current quarter’s report. Do not attempt to correct
a worker’s over-reported wages by including a negative amount on a subsequent wage report;
these amounts are read by the system as additional wages and could result in an overpayment of
unemployment benefits or additional taxes due.

5.7.2. Correcting Names or Social Security Numbers on a Previously Submitted Report

You can make changes to a name or Social Security number by writing a letter, including the name
reported/Social Security number reported previously, and the corrected name/Social Security number.
Also provide the quarter(s) in which it was reported and be sure to include your Arizona unemployment
tax account number.

Mail the letter to:

DES Ul Tax

C/O Accounting Unit

P.O. Box 6028

MD 5881

Phoenix, Arizona 85005-6028

Or email to: Employer Accounting Unit
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5.8. No Employees to Report / Account Suspension
What if | no longer have any employees but expect to in the future?

When employment has discontinued, but is expected in the future, you must choose one of the following
two actions to avoid numerous problems:

1. You may continue to file quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Reports, indicating on them that
no wages are being paid. This will enable your unemployment tax account to remain active for as
many as seven consecutive calendar quarters with no wages being paid, and you will continue
to receive all mailings. When employment resumes, simply file the report showing the wages you
paid for the quarter.

2. If you submit Unemployment Tax and Wage Reports indicating that no wages are being paid
for eight consecutive calendar quarters, your unemployment tax account will be suspended
automatically. However, you may request that your account be suspended instead of submitting
quarterly reports indicating no wages are being paid by completing a Report of Change form.
When you resume paying wages, immediately notify the Employer Registration Unit to reopen
your account. In a few days, you will be notified by mail of your tax rate, which may have
changed if your account is reopened in a subsequent calendar year.

Warning: If you stop submitting reports without your account being suspended, this will create delinquent
reports and could result in higher future tax rates being computed for your account based on estimated
wages.

5.9. Penalties for Late Wage Reports and/or Tax Payments A.R.S. §23-723.A

Even if you did not receive a preprinted quarterly report form in the mail, quarterly reports are due by the
last day of the month following the end of the previous quarter. If you are late filing, you will be charged

a penalty and interest. Arizona Administrative Code Section R6-3-1703(B)(2) states: “Failure to receive a
quarterly Contribution [Tax] and Wage Report form shall not relieve the employer of the responsibility for
filing the report.”

The penalty for a late report is 0.1% of total wages paid in the quarter; the minimum penalty is $35 and
the maximum is $200. Interest on unpaid taxes accrues at 1% of the taxes due per each month, or portion
of a month, that the payment is late. You can avoid the late report penalty charge by filing your reports on
time, even if you are unable to pay the tax at the time of filing. However, if you cannot pay the tax due,
contact the Collections Unit to make payment arrangements. The Department may file liens, levy on all
property and rights to property, and otherwise enforce collection of overdue amounts.

5.10. Additional Questions about Wage Reports and/or Tax Payments

| was unable to print out a copy of my quarterly Unemployment Tax and Wage Report when | filed
it online. How do | get a copy?

To obtain a copy of the quarterly report you submitted online, please contact the
Employer Accounting Unit.

The IRS has recently advised me to contact the state because of a discrepancy between the
federal and state wages reported. What form do | need?

Discuss the issue with a Department of Economic Security accounting technician by contacting the
Employer Accounting Unit. When the cause of the discrepancy is determined, the steps necessary to
resolve it can be taken. If the resolution changes the amount of wages you have reported to Arizona, the
Department will issue a written recertification reflecting this amount, which you can then provide to the
IRS.

For information on reporting wages and paying Unemployment Insurance Taxes electronically, please see
the Arizona Unemployment Tax and Wage System - Filing Tax and Wage Reports page.
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SECTION 6 -
ADDITIONAL EMPLOYER REQUIREMENTS

6. Additional Employer Requirements

6.1. Record Keeping

Arizona law requires all employers, whether or

not they have been determined liable to pay
unemployment taxes, to keep the following records
for the most recent four calendar years.

1. Check stubs and canceled checks for all
payments.

. Cash receipts and disbursement records.
. Payroll journal.
. General journal and general ledger.

. Copies of tax reports filed with all federal and
state agencies.

. Copies of W-2(s) and W-3(s).
. Other accounting records as may be
required.
8. For each payroll period, the:
a. Beginning and ending dates of each pay
period,

b. Total amount of remuneration paid for all
services, whether paid in cash, by check,
or in any other manner, and the date of
each such payment, and

c. Date in each week on which the largest
number of individuals worked and the
number of individuals who worked on
that day.

9. For each worker, the:
a. First and last name,
b. Social Security number,
c. Date hired, rehired, or returned to work,
d

. Date employment ended and the rea-
son(s) for separation from work,
e. Amount of remuneration paid in each
calendar quarter,
f. Amount of remuneration paid each
pay period, including the value of any
remuneration in a form other than cash,
g. Amount and date of any special payment,
such as a bonus, gift, or prize, and

h. Place in which services were performed.

a B WDN

N O
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6.2. Reporting Business Changes

It is your responsibility to notify the Department when any changes to your business occurs. A delay could
result in additional costs to you later. Be sure to report changes such as:

1. Selling your business,

2. Discontinuing your business,

3. Acquiring another business,

4. Changing ownership of your business,

5. Changing legal form of your business (incorporating, etc.),
6. Changing your business name, and

7. Changing your address.

To report a change to your business you can update it through the Tax and Wage System (TWS) or by
completing and submitting the Report of Changes Form (UC-514) to UITStatus@azdes.gov or contact the
Employer Registration Unit.

6.3. Providing Information to Your Employees

Federal law requires that you post in your place of business a Notice to Employees (POU-003) that
provides information about the Unemployment Insurance program to your employees.

» English (72 KB PDF) » Spanish (72 KB PDF)

You are also required to provide a printed statement containing information about filing for unemployment
benefits when one of your employees becomes unemployed. A pamphlet titled “Take Care of
Unemployment Business by the Internet or Telephone” (UIB-1241A) fulfills this requirement when printed
out and provided to the employee.

» English (83 KB PDF) » Spanish (86 KB PDF)

A more detailed booklet titled “A Guide to Arizona Unemployment Insurance Benefits”
(UIB-1240) is also available online.

» English (274 KB PDF) » Spanish (295 KB PDF)
Additional information about workplace posters may be found at:
» Workplace Posters Required by Arizona
» Workplace Posters Required by the U.S. Department of Labor

6.4. Reporting New Hires

6.4.1. Reporting New Hires to the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center

Federal and state law require all employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees in Arizona to
the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center within 20 days of their hire date.

New hire reporting speeds up the child support income withholding process, expedites collection of
child support from parents who have changed jobs, and quickly locates parents to help in establishing
paternity and child support orders. It also helps to detect and prevent improper payments of Ul,
workers compensation, and welfare benefits to undeserving recipients.

For detailed information regarding requirements and guidelines for the Arizona New Hire Reporting
Program, visit the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center.
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6.4.2. Employers Can Make a Big Difference for Employees Who Pay Child Support
Three simple steps is all it takes for employers to make sure that the support payments they withhold
from a check help their employees. Your employees depend on you to deduct the court-ordered
amount and send that payment so that they get credit for it. Those steps are:

* Include your employee’s name and ATLAS case number on your remittance. Without this
information, your employees may not get credit for payments you made on their behalf.

* Include the pay period from which you deducted the payment. The employees receive credit for the
pay period, not the date of the check.

» Pay the court-ordered monthly amount. If you pay your employees on a weekly or biweekly basis,
this does not satisfy the monthly court-ordered amount. Just like the insurance premiums that you
deduct, support is based on a monthly amount. If you divide the annual support by 52 weeks or 26
weeks, your payments may put your employees in an “arrears” status. This could cause interest to
accrue on their record; make their pay record appear to be delinquent; and adversely affect their
credit rating.

Support Payment Clearinghouse - In Arizona, payment for all income withholding orders must be
remitted to:

Clearinghouse

P.O. Box 52107

Phoenix, Arizona 85072-2107

The above address is to be used only for cases where employers receive an income withholding order
or court order with this address.

Your employees work hard for you. Help us help your employees. If you have any questions, please do
not hesitate to contact the Division of Child Support Enforcement, Customer Service.
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SECTION 7 -
AUDITS

7. Audits

The Department of Economic Security conducts
audits of Arizona employers on a random basis and
investigates issues regarding the status of individuals
as employees as well as the designation of payments
as wages to ensure proper payment of taxes. If
selected for an audit, you will be notified by mail

and an auditor will contact you by phone or email to
discuss the audit process and records required.

Audits are usually conducted remotely; however if an
employer is unable to securely provide their records
electronically, the audit can be conducted at the
office of the employer or a designated representative.
Out of state records must be made available to the
auditor electronically or at the Arizona business
location.

Before examining the records, the auditor will
interview the owner or representative of the
business. The purpose of the interview is to verify
the ownership of the business and to determine

the business nature and type of services being
performed. This pre-audit interview also helps the
tax auditor to better understand the financial records
which he or she will be examining.

Financial records are generally examined for the
most recently completed calendar year. For instance,
if the current date is June 15, 2022, the audit will
cover calendar year 2021. Records beyond the audit
year may be required if discrepancies in reporting
are found. Records for the previous three calendar
years as well as the current year may be needed and
should be available. For more information see the
Employer Bill of Rights. The following is a brief
outline of the procedures applicable to most audit
situations:
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Scheduling:

Audit Time:

Audit Scope:

Records
Required:

Source

Documents:

Audit
Closeout:

Questions:

Initial audit notification is usually by letter. A pre-audit discussion is held with the
employer or designated representative (normally by telephone) prior to the appointment
date to address questions or concerns about the audit and enable the auditor to become
familiar with the type of business under audit.

The time required to complete an audit varies depending on the type and size of
business and the volume and condition of the records. Audits conducted electronically
should have little impact on or interruption to an employer’s day to day business
operations.

Audits require an initial examination of records for four concurrent quarters, usually

the most recently completed calendar year. Discrepancies within this one-year period
may require further review up to an additional two years. Records for the audit may

be provided in whatever accounting format is normally used by the business, either
manual or automated. Such records, however, must reflect clearly the transaction dates,
amounts, payees and purpose of the disbursements.

At minimum, employers must provide the following:
+ Cash Disbursements: records of all amounts paid out by the business.

* Forms1099-NEC (Nonemployee compensation) and Form 1096 Annual
Summary and Transmittal

» Payroll Data: Records of wages paid to each employee.

* W-2 Forms and W-3 Transmittal.

» Copies of payroll tax reports filed with state and federal agencies.
* Income tax returns.

The unemployment tax section does not audit business income tax returns. It
uses income tax returns to verify the business entity and ownership, and to clarify
compensation or loans to business principals.

Employers will need to provide at least one calendar quarter of original source
documents such as check stubs with canceled checks, cash vouchers, or receipts of
cash payments, as necessary to verify the accuracy of amounts posted to automated
payroll summaries

After the audit work is completed, the auditor will provide close-out discussion of the
findings with the employer or representative, by telephone or, if necessary, in person.
An Audit Transmittal Report detailing the audit results is mailed to the employer after the
review is concluded.

Any questions about audit practices should be directed to the appropriate Unemployment
Tax Field Office.
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SECTION 8 -
EMPLOYER APPEALS

8. Employer Appeals

Whenever a determination is made that affects your
tax liability, a written notice is sent to you. Each
determination provides separate appeal rights; in all
cases, an appeal must be made in writing and within
the time period specified in the notice.

It is extremely important to submit any appeal
within the time frame indicated. After an original
determination, the levels of appeal usually are:

* Level 1. Reconsidered Determination (tax
cases) / Appeals Tribunal Hearing (benefit
cases)

* Level 2. Appeals Board Hearing
* Level 3. Arizona Tax Court
* Level 4. Arizona Court of Appeals

Read each determination carefully. It will provide you
with information on how to appeal and your deadline
for appealing. The following sections contain brief
synopses of the types of notices you may receive and
what to expect after you appeal.

8.1. Information about the Employer Appeal
Process

8.1.1. Liability for Unemployment Insurance
| Determination of Unemployment
Insurance Liability (UC-016 or UC-015A)

Or

Liability for Specific Services or Remuneration
/ Determination of Liability for Employment or
Wages (UC-016A)

8.1.1.1. First Contact — Receipt of
Determination

A “Determination of Unemployment
Insurance Liability” (UC-016 or UC-
015A) or “Determination of Liability for
Employment or Wages” (UC-016A) will
be sent to you when the Department
determines that you are an employer
liable for unemployment taxes or
individuals performing services on your
behalf are employees/remuneration
you pay them is subject to Arizona
unemployment taxes. The determination
contains:
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1. The determination date (date of the letter),

2. Your employer account number,

3. The date your liability begins,

4. Your tax rate (in the case of the UC-016 or UC-015A),

5. The legal basis for your liability,

6. A description of the services or remuneration (in the case of the UC-016A); and
7. Your appeal rights.

Often an assessment of taxes due on the remuneration determined to be wages is issued in
conjunction with the UC-016A. A decision regarding petition for reassessment will be issued
after issues affecting liability are final.

8.1.2. Liability for Specific Services or Remuneration / Determination of Liability for
Employment or Wages (UC-016A)

8.1.2.1. First Contact — Receipt of Determination

A “Determination of Liability for Employment or Wages” (UC-016A) will be sent to you if the
Department determines that individuals performing services on your behalf are employees
or that remuneration you pay them is wages subject to Arizona unemployment taxes. The
determination contains:

1. The determination date (date of the letter);

2. Your employer account number;

3. The legal basis for your liability;

4. A description of the services or remuneration; and
5. Your appeal rights.

8.1.3 Appealing the Determination

The determination becomes FINAL unless a written request for reconsideration is filed within 30
calendar days after the date on the UC-016, UC-015A, or UC-016A form as provided by

A.R.S. §23-724. If the 30th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday the filing period will be
extended to the next business day. Your written request for reconsideration should contain:

1. A statement of the reason(s) you consider the decision incorrect, and
2. Your Arizona Ul employer account number.

If an appeal is filed by mail, the postmark date is considered the date of the appeal. If the Appeals
Board affirms the Department’s reconsidered determination, then the employer shall submit all
required reports within 45 days after the Board’s decision. The employer may remit amount owed to
avoid accrued interest (paid under protest). There would be no additional charges.

Contact Information

Arizona Department of Economic Security
Unemployment Insurance Tax

P.O. Box 6028

Phoenix AZ 85005

FAX: (602) 532-5538

8.1.4. Assessment of Unemployment Taxes Due / Notice of Assessment (UC-018A)

A “Notice of Assessment” (UC-018A) will be sent to you when the Department determines that reports
are delinquent (due, but have not been received) or are deficient (incomplete) in some way. You may
file a written request for reassessment within 30 days of the date of the assessment if you disagree
with the amount assessed. If a timely petition for reassessment is filed and the decision of the
Department becomes final, you can file a written appeal within 15 days with payment of the amount
assessed.
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8.1.5. Charges if Benefits are paid to Former Employee(s) / Notice to Employer
(UB-110) or Determination of Deputy (UB-100)

8.1.5.1. Notice to Employer (UB-110)

If a former employee files a claim for Unemployment Insurance benefits and you are
determined a base period employer or the claimant’s last employer, the Department will
send you a “Notice to Employer” (UB-110). You may receive the notice by mail, or you may
choose to receive and respond to this notice electronically using the Ul State Information
Data Exchange System (SIDES) or SIDES E-Response option. You must complete and sign
the Notice to Employer and return it to the Department within 10 business days from the mail
date.

Please contact the Unemployment Insurance Call Center if you have any questions
regarding the Notice to Employer.

8.1.5.2. Determination of Deputy (UB-100)

If you respond within the allotted timeframe and your response indicates that you protest
payment of benefits, the Department will send you a “Determination of Deputy” (UB-100).
The determination states whether your former employee is eligible for unemployment
benefits, the applicable section of law under which the determination is made and whether
your experience rating account will be charged.

If you disagree with the determination you may file a written appeal within 15 calendar days
of the date of the determination. If the appeal is filed timely, you will have the opportunity
for a hearing before an appeals tribunal. This hearing may be conducted either in person or
by telephone. You will receive a written decision after the hearing. If you still disagree with
the decision you may appeal it to the Appeals Board. If you still disagree after the Appeals
Board, you may appeal to the Arizona Court of Appeals.

For additional information on filing an appeal to a Determination of Deputy, please visit
Unemployment Insurance Tax Employer Appeals - Charges for Former Employees.

8.1.6. Account Has Been Charged for Benefits Paid to Former Employee(s) / Benefit Charge
Notice (UC-602)

The “Benefit Charge Notice” (UC-602) is mailed to you quarterly if unemployment benefits have been
paid to former employees in the previous quarter and charged to your employer account, or if prior
charges have been reversed and credited back to your account. Tax-rated employers will receive a
UC-602-A (view sample UC-602-A 298 KB PDF) and reimbursement employers will receive a
UC-602-B (view sample UC-602-B 297 KB PDF). A detailed explanation of the information that
appears on the notice is printed on its reverse side.

You may appeal any mathematical or clerical errors you discover by filing a written request for
redetermination within 15 calendar days of the date of the notice. You may not appeal any issues
which have previously become final, such as a claimant’s eligibility for benefits, since separate appeal
processes were provided for these issues. You will usually receive a letter of explanation about the
issues you are appealing. If you disagree with the information in the letter, appeal rights are provided.
A written Reconsidered Determination will be sent to you if you appeal the letter of explanation. This in
turn may be appealed within 15 days to the Appeals Board. Thereafter, you may appeal to the Arizona
Tax Court, which is a division of the Maricopa County Superior Court system.

8.1.7. Determination of Unemployment Tax Rate (UC-603)

The “Determination of Unemployment Tax Rate” (UC-603) (view sample UC-603 (360 KB PDF) may
be appealed within 15 calendar days of the date of the determination with a written request for review.

You will receive a letter of explanation about the issues you are appealing. If you disagree with the
information in the letter, appeal rights are provided. A Reconsidered Determination will be written if you
appeal the letter of explanation. This in turn may be appealed within 15 calendar days to the Appeals
Board. Thereafter, you may appeal to the Arizona Tax Court, which is a division of the Maricopa
County Superior Court system.
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SECTION 9 -
TAX EVASION

9. Tax Evasion

9.1.

9.2,

State Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA)
Dumping

State Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA)

dumping, one of the biggest issues facing the
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) program, is a tax
evasion scheme where shell or new companies
are formed to obtain low Ul tax rates. When a low
rate is obtained, payroll from another entity with a
high Ul tax rate is shifted to the account with the
lower rate. The entity with the higher rate is then
“dumped.” Such abusive schemes leave other
employers making up for the unpaid tax.

What Harm Does SUTA Dumping Cause?

Under the experience rating system, employers
pay unemployment taxes at rates corresponding
with claims activities by their employees.
Employers with high unemployment activity

pay higher unemployment tax rates, and
employers with lower activity pay less. Employers
who engage in SUTA dumping (or other tax
manipulation schemes) to avoid paying their fair
share unfairly shift their costs to other employers.
According to the U.S. Department of Labor, SUTA
dumping is harmful because it:

» Compromises the integrity of the Ul system;
* Results in an uneven playing field;

» Eliminates the incentive for employers to
avoid layoffs;

» Adversely affects tax rates for all employers;
and

» Costs the Ul trust fund millions of dollars each
year.

SUTA dumping hurts everyone — employers,
employees, and taxpayers make up the difference
in higher taxes, lost jobs, lost profits, lower wages,
and higher costs for goods and services.
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9.3. SUTA Dumping Schemes

There are several variations on the schemes some businesses use to inappropriately lower their Ul
tax rate. Employers should become aware of these schemes and their potential legal ramifications.

Examples of SUTA dumping schemes:

1. Purchased Shell Transaction - A business with a large payroll and a high Ul rate purchases a
corporate shell with a low Ul rate and transfers its payroll to the purchased entity.

2. Affiliated Shell Transaction - A new corporation is registered and a small payroll is reported
each year until a low or minimum Ul rate is achieved. Once the low rate is achieved, large
payroll amounts from another related corporation are transferred into this account.

3. New Employer Rate - An employer with a high Ul rate files a registration form requesting a new
employer account number, which has a lower rate (new employers pay 2% in Arizona), then the
payroll is transferred to the new account.

4. Reporting under a client's Employer Account Number - An employee leasing company or
professional employer organization (PEQ) with a high Ul rate shifts its payroll to the account
number of one of its clients with a lower Ul rate.

5. High Plus High Equals Low - A high Ul rate account with a large payroll is transferred into
another high Ul rate account with a small payroll at the beginning of the year. Since the
calculation of the average base payroll is on a calendar year basis, only the small payroll is
considered. However, the taxes from the large payroll are added to the reserve account balance
as of June 30, resulting in a very low Ul rate being established for the next year.

6. Partial Reserve Account Acquisition - A newly registered business applies for a partial
reserve account balance of another company. When the small reserve balance is acquired,
a correspondingly small average base payroll is also acquired. A related entity then shifts
hundreds of millions of payroll into the small account. Because the average base payroll is tallied
on a calendar-year basis and reserve accounts accumulate quarterly, the result is to flood the
reserve balance in relation to the small average base payroll. A minimum rate is attained in the
succeeding year.

7. Buffering Potential Negative Reserve Account Charges - A company that hires temporary
workers forms a new entity and obtains a separate account number. The temporary workers
are paid through this account. When they are laid off and file Ul claims, the newly formed
company goes out of business and the negative reserve account charges get distributed to other
businesses in the state. This typically occurs when a labor action is contemplated and temporary
workers are hired knowing they will be laid off after the labor action. Another variation on this
scheme is when a company is planning to downsize. Employees to be laid off are transferred to
a subsidiary account. This buffers the reserve account of the initial company from Ul charges.

9.4. lllegality and Penalties
Is It lllegal?

Employers who engage in SUTA dumping or other rate manipulation schemes knowingly misrepresent
facts about their business. It is illegal under Arizona law to knowingly make false statements and omit
material facts on Ul tax documents in order to reduce Ul taxes. The federal SUTA Dumping Prevention
Act of 2004 required each state to enact laws to prevent employers from inappropriately lowering their Ul
contribution (tax) rates. The law not only bans SUTA dumping but also levies heavy penalties on those
who engage in or promote such abusive practices.
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Per A.R.S. § 23-733.01:

Employers who are caught illegally lowering their Ul rates to pay at the highest rate provided by
law or at their current rate plus an additional two percent, whichever is greater.

Provides for a $5,000 penalty for anyone who is not an employer who knowingly advises another
person or business to violate Arizona’s Ul rate and reporting laws.

The law specifies whenever an employer transfers all or part of its business to another employer, the
reserve account will be transferred if they are under common ownership, management, or control. The
law also provides that if the acquisition was for the purpose of getting a lower Ul rate, the transfer will
be denied.

What is DES doing to fight SUTA dumping?

The Department of Economic Security actively pursues and prosecutes employers who participate in
SUTA dumping and other tax manipulation schemes and has the authority to subpoena records and
individuals in its investigations. In addition, DES regularly conducts outreach with employers and tax
advisors to ensure they are aware of these schemes and to help them avoid future legal trouble.

9.5. How Do | Report It?

If you think someone is committing fraud or engaging in SUTA dumping, please report it to the Department
immediately. All allegations of fraud are taken seriously. Please provide as much of the following
information as you can:

Employer name, address, and telephone number
Employer account number

What they are doing

When they started doing it

Your name, address, and telephone number (optional)

REMEMBER: You are a very important source of information and a critical component in the Department’s
efforts to combat SUTA dumping fraud!

TO REPORT Ul TAX FRAUD
Email: RNeumann@azdes.qgov.
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SECTION 10 -

INTRODUCTION TO ARIZONA
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS

10. Introduction to Arizona Unemployment
Insurance Benefits

Unemployment benefit payments are made to
workers (claimants) who are temporarily unemployed
through no fault of their own and attempting to
re-enter the labor force. As an employer, your
Arizona unemployment taxes pay the entire cost of
unemployment benefits paid. By law, unemployment
taxes cannot be withheld from the wages you pay
workers.

Since it is your taxes that are used to pay benefits
to your former workers, it is to your advantage to
become familiar with the benefit provisions of the
Unemployment Insurance program.

Before an individual can receive unemployment
benefit payments, several basic requirements must
be met:

1. The worker must show a prior attachment
to the labor force. (i.e. Individuals who have
recently entered the labor force will not
qualify.)

2. The worker must not have caused their
unemployment. (i.e. Benefits are paid only
to workers who are unemployed through no
fault of their own.)

3. The worker must maintain an attachment
to the labor force while they are collecting
benefits.

4. Benefits are payable only to individuals who
are actively seeking work.

28



10.1. Determining Eligibility for Benefits

10.1.1. Monetary Eligibility A.R.S §23-771
The Department determines the claimant’s “monetarily eligibility” for benefits, as follows:

» The amount of benefits a claimant may be eligible to receive is based on insured
wages earned from an employer who pays unemployment insurance taxes during a
one-year period called the Base Period. The Base Period is the first four of the last
five completed calendar quarters before the claimant filed a claim.

To qualify for benefits, a worker must have worked and earned:

+ At least 390 times the Arizona minimum wage in the highest-paid quarter of the
base period and a combined total in the other three quarters equal to at least one
half the amount of wages in the highest-paid quarter, or

« A combined total of at least $7,000 in wages in at least two quarters of the base
period, with wages in one quarter equal to $5987.50 or more.

The weekly benefit amount a claimant may receive is calculated by taking 4% of the wages
paid to the claimant in the highest quarter of the base period. The minimum weekly amount
is $200 and the maximum is $320.

If the claimant is determined to be monetarily eligible, a benefit year, a weekly benefit
amount and a maximum benefit award is established up to 26 weeks of benefits if the
unemployment rate in the prior calendar quarter is 5% or more; or 24 weeks of benefits if the
unemployment rate in the prior calendar quarter is less than 5%, or 1/3 the total of their base
period.

If a claimant qualifies for the maximum weekly benefit amount of $320, the maximum total
amount that may be collected on a given claim is $7,680 or 8,320. (During a period of high
unemployment when extended benefits are paid, the maximum amount may increase.
(See Extended Unemployment Benefits.)

10.1.2. Non-Monetary Eligibility Factors

After the claimant is determined monetarily eligible, several other factors determine whether benefit
payments will be made:

1. The reason for separation from last employer,

2. Whether all other eligibility requirements have been met and continue to be met during the time in
which benefits are claimed.

10.1.2.1. The Reason for Separation from Last Employer A.R.S. §23-772, §23-773,
§23-774, §23-775

When a claim for benefits is filed, each of the worker’s employers (the most recent and
any employer who paid wages to the claimant during the base period of the claim) are sent
a Notice to Employer. These notices may be mailed to your address of record, or may be
sent electronically if you elected to utilize the online reporting function Ul SIDES or SIDES
E-Response. (Click here for more information on electronic reporting). A telephone call

to the Department does not constitute a valid protest; it does not exempt you from the
necessity of completing and returning the “Notice to Employer.”

You may receive notices of claims filed at an address other than your official business by

submitting a written request to the Employer Registration Unit. You may also complete and
return the Report of Changes form UC-514 or online by utilizing our online Tax and Wage

System (TWS).
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The reason for separation determines whether your account will be charged for its
proportionate share of any benefits paid to the claimant for both the last employer and
base period employer. The separation from the last employer affects the worker’s eligibility
to receive benefits, whereas the separation from base period employers only affects the
employer’s chargeability. Claimed amounts charged to your Tax Account may affect your

future tax rate.

Employers may provide information that may affect a worker’s eligibility in addition to the
separation details (regarding their ability or availability to work, should barriers exist),
however this information does not relieve an employer of charges if the worker is later
determined to be eligible for benefits.

The table below shows examples of many common types of situations which may affect a worker’s
eligibility and an employer’s chargeability.
The “Effect on Worker” column relates to the separation from the last employer only. The “Effect on

Employer” column relates to either base period or last employers chargeability when the Department
makes the determination listed in the left hand column.

COMMON TYPES OF UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFIT DETERMINATIONS

A Determination that the Worker:

Effect on Worker

Effect on Employer*

Voluntarily quit without good cause in
connection with the work
_or_
Was discharged for misconduct

Disqualified from receiving benefits until
the worker has had subsequent
employment and is again unemployed
through no fault of their own.

No charges to
the employer’s
account

The employer was called to active duty
in the military
- or-

A former employee of the employer
returned to work for the employer after
being called into active military duty,
thus displacing the claimant

Eligible for benefits if other eligibility
conditions are also met.

No charges to
the employer’s
account

Was laid off due to a lack of work
_Or_
Was discharged for reasons other than
misconduct
_Or_
Voluntarily quit with good cause in
connection with the work

Eligible for benefits if other eligibility
conditions are also met.

Charges to the
employer’s account

Left work for a compelling personal
reason not attributable to the employer
_Or_

Was separated due to mandatory
retirement under a nongovernmental
retirement plan

Eligible for benefits if other eligibility
conditions are also met.

No charges to
the employer’s account

While filing claims for benefits, is
provided part-time employment by
the employer to the same extent as
provided by that employer during the
worker’s base period

Eligible for partial benefits if other
eligibility conditions are also met.

No charges to
the employer’s
account

* By law, relief of charges does not apply to reimbursement employers, i.e., those employers
that have elected the Reimbursement Payment Option.
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10.1.2.2. Other Eligibility Requirements
To remain qualified to receive benefits a claimant must:
» Be physically able and available to accept full time work.

* Engage in a systematic and sustained effort to obtain work during at least four different
days of the week.

* Not refuse a bona fide offer of work.

10.3. How Your Ul Taxes Fund Benefit Payments

The cost of any benefits paid to a claimant is met by the claimant’s former employers. Employers
who paid wages to a claimant in the base period of the claim share the cost of the benefits paid to the
claimant through “charges” made to their experience rating accounts. Charging your account for the
payment of benefits to a former worker means that the total amount of taxes you have paid on your
account is reduced by the total amount of benefits charged to your account when your tax rate for the
next calendar year is calculated.

Benefits are charged in proportion to the percentage of wages you paid to the claimant in the base
period compared to those paid to the claimant by other employers in the base period. For example, if
you paid 100% of the wages during the worker’s base period, your share of the charges is 100% of the
benefits paid. If you paid 25% of the wages, your share of the charges is 25%. The maximum amount
charged for regular benefits cannot be more than one-third of the amount of the wages you paid in the
claimant’s base period.

10.3.1. Quarterly Notice of Benefit Charges

A “Benefit Charge Notice” (UC-602-A for tax-rated employers; UC-602-B for reimbursement
employers) is mailed to you quarterly if unemployment benefits have been paid to former
employees in the previous quarter and charged to your unemployment tax account. The
notice lists the names and Social Security numbers of your former employees who were
paid benefits during the quarter. It also lists the amount of wages you paid the claimant in
the base period of the claim, and your share of the cost of those benefits (the amount you
are charged). If a previous charge was reversed during the quarter, the notice also lists a
corresponding credit to your account.

The quarterly charge notice is not a bill, but simply an accounting of charges made during
the quarter. (Benefit charges are one of several factors that can cause your tax rate to
increase in subsequent years.) Before your account is charged for these benefits you will
have been sent a Notice to Employer, which gave you the opportunity to protest payment of
the benefits. You are also provided the opportunity to appeal any determination you received
as a result of a timely protest.

You should carefully review each Benefit Charge Notice for any clerical or mathematical
errors, and submit information in writing within 15 days of the date of the notice if:

1. An individual on the list was not your employee.
2. You have not received a response to your reply to a Notice to Employer.

3. Your account is being charged for payment of benefits although you received a non-
charge determination.

4. Work is available and you wish to offer employment to a former worker.
5. An individual listed has refused an offer of work from you.
6. You believe an individual is currently working or otherwise not entitled to benefits.

Information you provide will result in a review of our records. You will receive a reply
advising you of any corrections made or explaining the reason for the charge.
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10.3.2. Reimbursement Employer Billings

If you elected the Reimbursement Payment Option, you will be mailed a Statement of
Account (UC-145A) in addition to the “Benefit Charge Notice” (UC-602-B). This statement
shows the amount owed for your proportionate share of benefits paid. Your payment is due
on or before the last day of the second month following the end of the quarter in which the
claims were paid.

You are responsible to pay the actual dollar amount of your share of benefits paid. Unlike
tax-rated employers, you do not pay quarterly taxes on the wages you pay your workers.

The process of charging or non-charging benefits paid does not apply to a reimbursement
employer.
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SECTION 11 -

DETECTION AND PREVENTION OF
IMPROPER BENEFIT PAYMENTS

11. Detection and Prevention of Improper
Benefit Payments

To ensure proper payment of unemployment benefits,
the Department utilizes three types of audit programs:

11.1. Quality Control

Each week unemployment claims are randomly
selected for a thorough investigation to determine
whether the claim was properly established

and whether benefits were properly paid. This
investigation requires Department representatives
to personally contact the claimant’s previous
employers to review pertinent wage and
separation information. If you were not a previous
employer of the claimant, but the claimant listed
your firm as a contact in an effort to secure
employment, Department representatives may
also verify such contact with you.

11.2. Post Audit

This program is used to detect individuals who
may be working and receiving wages while
collecting unemployment benefits. A Wage/
Earnings Audit form may be mailed to you when
you have reported wages in the same calendar
quarter in which benefits have been paid. By
completing and returning this report, you provide
information which can assist the Department in
detecting unemployment overpayments. Detection
and recovery of overpaid benefits can result in
credits to your experience rating account.

11.3. New Hire Directory Audit

A New Hire Verification form may be mailed to
you when you have reported the claimant as a
new hire or rehire.
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SECTION 12 -
INTERSTATE UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

12. Interstate Unemployment Benefits

A former worker who no longer resides in Arizona
may file a claim for unemployment benefits based on
wages earned from your employment. This is referred
to as an “interstate” claim. The worker’s eligibility for
benefits and charges to your unemployment account
are determined in the same manner as if the worker
had filed the claim in Arizona.

In other instances, a worker may have last worked
in Arizona but the claim is based on wages earned
in another state. You may receive a notice that the
claim was filed, along with a request for information
concerning the worker’s reason for separation

from your employment. When you return the form
within the specified time period (the time varies
among states), you are assisting in determining

the claimant’s eligibility to receive unemployment
benefits. In most cases, however, payment of benefits
will not affect your unemployment account.
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SECTION 13 -
EXTENDED UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

13. Extended Unemployment Benefits
A.R.S. §23-627, §23-628

During periods of high unemployment in Arizona,
state law provides for the payment of up to

13 weeks of additional benefits. To qualify for

this extension of benefits, a worker must have
exhausted the total amount payable in his/her
regular award and must meet special work search
and other eligibility requirements. Experience-rated
and nonprofit reimbursement employers will be
charged for 50% of any extended benefits paid.
Governmental employers are required to reimburse
the Department for the total amount of extended
benefits paid.
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SECTION 14 -

Labor Disputes

14. Labor Disputes A.R.S. §23-777

When a strike, lockout, or other labor dispute occurs
at your business, you must notify the Department
within three days of the start of the labor dispute and
furnish a list showing the name and Social Security
number of and type of work performed by each
person who is unemployed due to the labor dispute.

The Department of Economic Security is a neutral
party in such disputes. The law provides that a
claimant who is participating in, financing, or directly
interested in a labor dispute shall be disqualified
from receiving unemployment insurance benefits
for the duration of the dispute or until the claimant’s
unemployment is no longer due to the dispute,
whichever comes first. Due to federal regulations,
the Employment Service will not refer workers to the
business while there is an ongoing dispute.
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SECTION 15 -
HOW TO KEEP YOUR Ul COST DOWN

15.1. Stabilize Employment

The following are a few tips on stabilizing
employment within your business:

1

. Screen prospective employees carefully

before hiring, to select the “right” employee
for the job.

. Hire versatile employees who can be shifted

to another job if necessary.

. Transfer employees to other job sites when

feasible.

. Use regular employees for repairs and

maintenance during slack periods.

. Instead of layoffs, consider reducing the work

week under the Shared Work Program.

15.2. Minimize Charges to Your Account

You can help minimize charges to your Arizona
Unemployment Insurance Tax Account by doing the
following:

1.

Keep accurate records of employment
agreements, employee performance,
dates and details of warnings, and other
disciplinary measures.

. Return the Notice to Employer within 10

working days of the date of the notice with
specific information about the reason for
separation from your employment if it was for
a reason other than lack of work.

. Take the time to appeal if you believe a

determination is incorrect.

. Notify the Department promptly if you have

information that a claimant is not available
for work, not able to work, has refused work,
or is employed.

. Complete wage audit forms when they are

sent to you, and respond in a timely manner.

. Report newly hired and rehired employees

to the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center
within 20 days of the hire date, as required
by federal and state law.

37


https://des.az.gov/services/employment/unemployment-employer/shared-work-program-faqs
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https://newhire-reporting.com/az-newhire/default.aspx

15.3. Maintain a Good Tax Rate
By following a few steps, you can do your part in maintaining a favorable tax rate:

1

a b WDN

. Submit quarterly wage reports timely to avoid penalties.

. Pay taxes promptly to obtain maximum Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA) credit.

. Report all changes to your business promptly.

. Do not report non-taxable payments or employees in exempt employment.

. Compute all tax payments carefully—if you file your reports via Arizona’s online Tax and Wage

System (TWS), it accurately and automatically computes this for you.

. Consider making a voluntary payment to lower your tax rate. Payment is only available to be

made from January 1 through February 28 for the current year computation.
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