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General Information 
Does this program provide financial assistance to provide care for my family 
member? 
No, the program reimburses family caregivers who pay upfront for the cost of home 
modifications or purchasing/leasing assistive care technology for their qualified family member. 

Who is considered a family caregiver? 
Any immediate family member who is caring for a loved one who is currently caring for an 
older adult, an individual living with a chronic illness or disease, and an individual living with 
a disability. Family caregivers can be a spouse, child, parent, in-law, stepchild, grandchild, 
grandparent, siblings or other relatives’ caregivers including aunts and uncles. 

How do I know if I qualify for the program? 
The family caregiver must provide a copy of: 

• Receipt(s):   
The family caregiver pays upfront (on or after January 1, 2021) for the cost of home  
modifications or purchasing/leasing assistive care technology. Receipts may be saved  
up throughout the year and submitted with ONE application. 

• Income: Provide proof of income for family caregiver AND qualifying family member: 
a. Income taxes 
b. Social Security Income (SSI) award 
c. Pay stub 
d. Veteran Award Letter 
e. Any public benefit award letter (TANF, SNAP, etc.) 

○ Total combined income for family caregiver and qualified family member’s 
income must not exceed: 
$75,000/year in total income 
(Caregiver + Qualified Family Member = total income) 

○ or 
○ As a couple, earn less than $150,000/year in total income 

((caregiver + spouse) + qualified family member = total income)). 
• Age: Be 18 years or older. Provide any one of the following for family caregiver AND 

qualifying family member: 
a. Arizona driver’s license 
b. ID card (with date of birth) 
c. Birth certificate 

• Arizona Residency: Family caregiver and qualified family member must be Arizona 
residents, provide one of the following for each person: 

a. Arizona driver’s license or identification card 
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b. Arizona Voter Registration card 
c. Current utility bill 

• Completed W-9:   
Included with the application and required for a check to be issued to the family  
caregiver. Please refer to the W-9 Instructions Page. W-9 Forms that are incorrectly  
filled out will not be accepted and could potentially delay processing of the application. 

• Signed Medical Need Verification Form   
The form must be signed by a Physician, Nurse Practitioner (NP) or Physician’s  
Assistant (PA) to validate assistance with one (1) or more activities of daily living  
requirement. The qualified family member must:  

a. Require assistance with one (1) or more activities of daily living (toileting, 
bathing, dressing, grooming, eating, mobility, or transferring). 

b. Be 18 years or older. 

Is this program for older adults only? 
No, family caregivers who care for an adult 18 years or older can apply for the program. 

When does the program start? 
January 1, 2021. 

Program Qualifications 
Does the qualified family member have to live in the caregivers’ home to 
qualify? 
No. However, if the reimbursement request is intended for a home modification, the alterations 
must be made to the caregivers’ home, not the qualified family members’ home. 

There is a gross income requirement for the family caregiver and qualified 
family member combined. The qualified family member and I together make 
more than $75,000 per year in gross income, do I qualify? 
Unfortunately, no. 

There is a gross income requirement for the family caregiver and qualified 
family member combined. My spouse and I file our taxes together and combined 
with the qualified family member, we make more than $150,000 per year in gross 
income, do we qualify? 
Unfortunately, no. 

If I modified my home or purchased/leased assistive care technology for my 
family member in 2020 or earlier, do I qualify? 
No, the modifications and purchases must be in the same year as the application for 
reimbursement and the program starts on January 1, 2021. 

 Arizona Family Caregiver Reimbursement Program Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) | 4 



 

  
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 

 
  

 
  

  
 
 
 
  

I’m caring for my child who requires my home to be modified and/or needs 
assistive care technology, do I qualify? 
Yes, if the following criteria are met: 

1) Your child is 18 years or older. 
2) Your adult child requires assistance with one (1) or more activities of daily living  

(toileting, bathing, dressing, grooming, eating, mobility, or transferring). With the  
application, you will submit the Medical Need Verification Form (provided) that needs to  
be signed by a Physician, Nurse Practitioner (NP) or Physician’s Assistant (PA). 

3) You earn $75,000/year or less or as a couple, earn less than $150,000/year and provide  
proof of income with a copy of one of the following: income taxes, Social Security  
Income (SSI) award, pay stub, Veteran Award Letter or any public benefit award letter  
(TANF, SNAP, etc.) 

4) You provide receipts for home modifications and/or assistive care technology. 
5) You provide proof of your age and your qualified family members age with copies of  

your Arizona driver’s license  or ID card (with birthdate) or  birth  certificate. 
6) You provide proof of Arizona residency with a copy of your Arizona driver’s license,  

Arizona Voter Registration Card  or utility bill. 

If there are more than one person receiving care in my home, do they need to 
apply separately? 
No, the option to include more than one qualified family member on the application is provided 
on the application. All required documents including residency and income must be included 
for each qualifying family member. NOTE: Each qualifying family must have a Medical Need 
Verification Form. 

What is considered a home modification? 
Improving or altering the family caregiver’s primary residence involves making changes to the 
livable spaces accessible to your family member to be safe and independent. 

Examples include, but not limited to: 

• Widening of doorways 

• Ramps/low inclined walkways 

• Stair lift 

• Adaptive switches 

• One-bathroom environment 
○ (roll-in/curb-less) accessible shower 
○ roll-under sink 
○ high rise toilet with handrails 
○ handrails and grab bars in accessible shower 
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What is considered assistive care technology? 
Examples include, but not limited to: 

• Hearing aids (may be for family caregiver to ease communication challenges) 

• Eating: adaptive utensils, dentures 

• Transferring: Hoyer lift, gait belt 

• Toileting; bedside commode 

• Bathing: shower chair/bench, handheld shower head 

• Vehicle wheelchair lift 

• Dressing assistance; buttoning aid hook, long reach comfort wipe 

• Mobility: Bed handles, wheelchairs, scooters (batteries), walkers, canes 

• Communication devices; voice recognition programs, screen readers, screen 
enlargement applications 

• Monitoring systems: medical alert devices, in-home cameras, auto fall detection devices 
connected to cellphones/mobile phones, movement/call buttons, personal alarms – 
pressure alarms for w/c or beds 

• Computer software and hardware: voice recognition programs, screen readers, and 
screen enlargement applications 

• May include skin barrier creams, mattress liners, under pads, adult briefs, wipes, 
gloves, medication crushers/cutters, thermometers, blood pressure cuffs, etc. 

 
 

When I apply for the program, can I submit receipts for home modifications AND 
assistive care technology for reimbursement? 
Yes. 

Application Process 
If a family caregiver is receiving services, can they still apply for the program? 
Yes, the program is to provide reimbursement for home modifications and purchasing/leasing 
assistive care technology. 

How do I get an application to apply? 
Contact the Arizona Caregiver Coalition’s Caregiver Resource Line at (888) 737-7494 or 
by email at CRL@azcaregiver.org. You will need to pass pre-screening questions and then 
a Caregiver Resource Specialist will email or mail you the application package. NOTE: 
December 23 is the last day to request an application by mail. 
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When is the deadline to apply? 
December 31, 2021. ALL required documents must be postmarked, emailed, scanned or 
faxed on or before December 31, 2021. No exceptions. Note: December 23 is the last day to 
request an application by mail. 

How do I submit my documents to the Arizona Caregiver Coalition? 
There are three options to submit your application information. 

1) Scan the requested documents and email to CRL@AZcaregiver.org 
2) Fax to 888-288-6293 
3) Mail to Arizona Caregiver Coalition P. O. Box 21623 Phoenix, AZ 85036 

When will I hear back about my application? 
Once your application has been received, you will receive a response within 90 days. 

After I receive my reimbursement, is there anything else I should do? 
You will be contacted within six (6) weeks of submitting your application as a follow up about 
the ability to keep the qualified family member at home. 

Can I apply again if I’ve been denied? 
Yes, although family caregivers are not eligible to apply for the grant again for three (3) 
consecutive calendar years. 

Can I apply again if I received a reimbursement in 2020? 
Unfortunately, no.  You cannot reapply for three (3) consecutive calendar years. 

What is a 1099 form? 
An Internal Revenue Service (IRS) form. 

Why will I receive a 1099 form? 
If the reimbursement amount is $600 or more, it is considered a form of payment. The 
Arizona Department of Economic Security (DES) is required to send a 1099 form to the family 
caregiver as the reimbursement is taxable income. 

What do I have to do with the 1099 form? 
Include the 1099 when filing your annual taxes. 

More Questions 
What if I have more questions? 
Please contact a Caregiver Resource Specialist at (888) 737-7494 or email at 
CRL@AZcaregiver.org. 
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Arizona Caregiver Coalition 
--Serving the Needs of Arizona Caregivers--

Equal Opportunity Employer / Program • Auxiliary aids and services are available upon 
request to individuals with disabilities • To request this document in alternative format or 
for further information about this policy, contact the Division of Aging and Adult Services 
at 602-542-4446; TTY/TDD Services 7-1-1 • Disponible en español en línea o en la 
oficina local 
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