



Arizona Rental Assistance (ARA)

Arizona Rental Assistance (ARA) alleviates housing instability for eligible low-income seniors and families with children. Eligible households may receive a lump-sum assistance payment equal to three times the household's monthly rent, not to exceed \$10,500, that must be used for rental arrears, future rent, and rent late fees and/or penalties.



For a household to qualify for Arizona Rental Assistance:

- The household must be experiencing housing insecurity (rent arrears or eviction) due to a temporary financial hardship. Eligible households served an eviction notice may be given priority application processing.
- The household must have at least one qualifying child (17 and younger) or senior/elder (60 years or older).
- One household member must show a current or future means of supporting the household, through employment (past, future, and training may qualify), or qualified benefits (unemployment, worker's compensation, disability).
 - If all adult household members are 60 years of age or older, this requirement is waived.
- ✓ The total household income is at or below 80% of the Area Median Income.
- The household is located within an Arizona DES service area and is obligated by written agreement (i.e. lease) to pay rent.
 - If the household is located outside of a DES service area, please contact your local municipality or visit <u>https://des.az.gov/ARAP</u> for more information on rental assistance available in your area.



The applicant will need to provide the following documentation:

- Copy of lease/rental agreement.
- Proof of identity.
- Proof that at least one household member is a qualifying senior/elder or child.
 - For qualifying children, the applicant will also need to verify the identity of the Related Adult (if different from the Applicant) through qualifying documentation that contains the subject household member's full name and date of birth.
- Proof of income for all household members ages 18 and older, and 16-17 years of age if not a full-time high school student or equivalent.
 - Income for the household is defined as Gross Income, including selfemployment, earned and unearned income, for each individual.
- Proof of housing instability (eviction notice or past due rent notice), such as an eviction notice (for failure to pay obligations) that is current within 15 days; or a past due rent notice or other sufficient proof of temporary financial hardship, current within 30 days.
- Proof of current or future means of support for one household member, such as receipt of qualified benefits (unemployment, worker's compensation, disability), or proof of current employment, or eligible past/future employment or training (waived if all household members are 60 years or older).

Benefits are paid directly to a participating landlord, or a tenant if the landlord does not or declines to participate. Prior rental assistance recipients under the Emergency Rental Assistance Program (ERAP) are not eligible for Arizona Rental Assistance.

To learn more about this program, apply for assistance, or verify eligibility, visit <u>https://des.az.gov/</u><u>ARAP</u> or visit a Community Action Agency (CAA) for assistance. To find your nearest CAA, visit <u>https://des.az.gov/CommunityActionAgencies</u>.



Equal Opportunity Employer / Program • Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities • TTY/TDD Services 7-1-1 • Disponible en español en línea o en la oficina local